A Sunday Vagary

May 13, 2012 § 1 Comment

For the past 7 years I have suffered from a recurring nightmare in which I am crucified in my home church. The entire town has filled the pews to watch and whispers of my crimes and treasons run rampant through the crowd. My family is sitting in the second row and my mother sobs uncontrollably as the event unfolds. The priest splashes my body with holy water while repeating some venerable latin prayer that no one else seems to recognize. He then raises an ax with both arms and swings for my midsection. My blessed body is easily cut in half and the bottom portion tumbles down toward the floor while I watch. Afterwards, the image immediately cuts to black and a series of film-like credits begins to role. They list the names of all the participants sans myself, who remains the only uncredited participant in my own dream.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to A Sunday Vagary

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Sunday Vagary at a wisp of smoke.

meta

