A Walk in the Park

April 25, 2012 § 1 Comment

A Sunday on La Grande Jatte

Image via Wikipedia

While walking through the park one day I meet a man who seems to be afflicted with the most unusual illness. It appears that for any word he tries to speak, two more grow in its place. A simple hello automatically becomes hello good sir which then forms into hello good sir how are you doing? which sprouts hello good sir how are you doing? I am glad to see you are doing well which then comes tumbling out as hello good sir how are you doing? I am glad to see you are doing well. Listen, I have an uncontrollable urge to keep talking so please feel free to run away which has the unfortunate fate of becoming hello good sir how are you doing? I am glad to see you are doing well. Listen, I have an uncontrollable urge to keep talking so please feel free to run away. I’m sure your mother taught you such actions are rude but its a necessary choice. Your politeness may very well kill us both and despite my disability I still have things worth living for. Heeding the stranger’s advice, I nod politely and carry on about my business, leaving behind the echoes of an infinitely one-sided conversation.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to A Walk in the Park

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Walk in the Park at a wisp of smoke.

meta

